Rubinet Announcements


  • We welcome our new postdoc, Jinyoung Han, to our group.
  • Congrats to our group (Mehdi and Aveek, specifically) for the acceptance of two papers in IEEE INFOCOM 2004.

News Archive


  • Shiliang Tang, who participated in the Global Research Experience in Advanced Technologies (GREAT) 2013, won the "Outstanding research performance" award. Congratulations to Shiliang and his mentor, Mehdi!


  • Prof. Chuah was elected as ACM Distinguished Scientist.
  • Congrats to Atif Nazir for completing his PhD.
  • Our Programmable Measurement project received Year 2 funding from HP Labs 2012 Innovation Research Award
  • Congrats to Guanyao Huang for completing his PhD, and for winning the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad



  • Congrats to Haiping, Dhruv, and Saqib for completing their PhD dissertations!
  • Congrats to (Leo) Xin Liu for completing his PhD and best wishes for his move to Microsoft/Seattle!
  • UC Davis Magazine article on RUBINET research, supported through Chuah's Chancellor's Fellow Award


  • Congrats to Behrooz for completing his PhD dissertation work!
  • (Leo) Xin's paper won the Top 10% Paper Award at the IEEE International Workshop on Multimedia Signal Processing (MMSP) 2009


  • Congratulations to the RUBINET Lab’s most recent PhD graduates:
    • Jianning Mai (Fall 2008)
    • Jason LeBrun (Spring 2008), currently with Sentilla
    • Lihua Yuan (Summer 2008), currently with Microsoft
  • Dhruv Gupta’s paper “Efficient Monitoring in Wireless Mesh Networks: Overheads and Accuracy Trade-offs” is one of the Best Paper Candidates at the 5th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad Hoc and Sensor Systems (MASS 2008)!


  • Congratulations to the first batch of PhD graduates:
    • Ram Keralapura (Winter 2007), currently with Narus
    • Danjue Li (Winter 2007), currently with Cisco Systems



I am very fortunate to work with a great group of students, some of which have also benefited from the following fellowships:

  • Northrop Grumman Fellowship
    • Mehdi Malboubi (2013)
  • Fulbright/LASPAU Scholarship
    • Carlos Colman-Meixner (2011-13)
  • Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad
    • Guanyao Huang (2011)
  • Graduate Scholars Fellowship
    • (Leo) Xin Liu (2007-08)
  • UC Davis Non-Resident-Tuition-Fee Award:
    • Ram Keralapura (2003-05)
  • Hewlett-Packard Citris Fellowships:
    • Lihua Yuan (2005-06)
    • Danjue Li (2004-05)
    • Ram Keralapura (2003-04)
  • Hewlett-Packard Citris Undergraduate Award
    • Patrik Satarzadeh (Summer 2003)
  • GAANN Fellowship
    • Jason LeBrun (2002-03)
  • Accel Fellowship
    • Cheng Peng (2002-03)