Cadence University Program Member



Research Project Spotlight

Energy storage elements and electromechanical timing references, such as crystals, can dominate energy-autonomous wireless sensor node volume at the cubic millimeter scale. The clock–data recovery circuit shown in the photo below receives power from integrated photovoltaics and extracts clock and data signals from optical data input. The prototype, fabricated in 90-nm CMOS, was tested over a supply voltage range of 150–500 mV and supports maximum data rates from 15 kb/s to 4 Mb/s while dissipating 51 nW–3.5 μW. The chip was designed using the Custom IC and Verification software bundles from Cadence.

die_photograph_cdr


Undergraduate Class Project Spotlight

EEC 119AB class project to design a mobile phone camera ASIC for fluorescence microscopy applications. The project used the Custom IC, Digital IC, and Verification software bundles from Cadence.

wholelayoutW


Involved Faculty

Professor Rajeevan Amirtharajah
3173 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 341-2522
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: ramirtha@ucdavis.edu
Professor Bevan Baas
2037 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 754-4834
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: bbaas@ece.ucdavis.edu
Professor Simon R. Cherry
2511 GBSF
Phone: (530) 754-9419
E-mail: srcherry@ucdavis.edu
Professor Q. Jane Gu
2041 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 752-8960
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail:jgu@ucdavis.edu
Professor David A. Horsley
2016 Bainer Hall
Phone: (530) 341-3236
E-mail: dahorsley@ucdavis.edu
Professor Paul Hurst
2031 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 752-2054
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: hurst@ece.ucdavis.edu
Professor Stephen H. Lewis
2035 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 752-0458
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: lewis@ece.ucdavis.edu
Professor Xiaoguang “Leo” Liu
3169 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 289-6367
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: lxgliu@ucdavis.edu
Professor Neville C.Luhmann, Jr.
3017 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 752-5414
FAX: (530) 754-9070
E-mail: ncluhmann@ucdavis.edu
Professor Omeed Momeni
3167 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 754-7566
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: omomeni@ucdavis.edu
Professor John D. Owens
3175 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 754-4289
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: owens@ece.ucdavis.edu
Professor Anh-Vu H. Pham
3141 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 752-7472
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: pham@ece.ucdavis.edu
Professor S.J. Ben Yoo
3179 Kemper Hall
Phone: (530) 752-7063
FAX: (530) 752-8428
E-mail: yoo@ece.ucdavis.edu

Emeriti

Professor K. Wayne Current
E-mail:current@ece.ucdavis.edu
Professor Richard Spencer
E-mail: spencer@ece.ucdavis.edu

Integrated Circuit Design and Related Courses

Undergraduate:

    • EEC 116 VLSI Design
    • EEC 118 Digital Integrated Circuits
    • EEC 119A/B Integrated Circuits Design Project

Graduate:

New Graduate Courses:

  • EEC 289O Integrated Circuit Design for Power Electronics
  • EEC 289K Terahertz and mm-Wave Integrated Circuit Design
  • EEC 289K Integrated Circuits for Wireless Communications

Research Labs Using Cadence


Useful Links


Cadence is a registered trademark of Cadence Design Systems, Inc., 2655 Seely Avenue, San Jose, CA 95134.

Any questions and comments should be directed to ramirtha@ucdavis.edu Prof. Raj Amirtharajah
Phone: (530) 341-2522

Last updated: July 14, 2016

Comments are closed.